Release  Adam Skaggs ·

Final Results

Youngstown, Ohio –Youngstown State Men and Women continued a dominant performance in day two to capture both the Men’s and Women’s 2017 Horizon League Indoor Track and Field Championships.  After leading both teams to Horizon League titles, Head Coach Brian Gorby earned Coach of the Year honors on each side.

Youngstown State won Championship Outstanding Performance honors between junior Jaynee Corbett and sophomore Chad Zallow collecting the most votes throughout the weekend. Jaynee Corbett earned the award for her field performance after capturing her second straight conference shot put title with a toss of 14.91 meters. Corbet won the event by .90 meters.  Chad Zallow received the award after winning three events throughout the day, including a Horizon League record in the 60 meter dash. Zallow’s first stand out performance came in the 60 seconds, clocking in a time of 7.61 seconds. His next first place finish came in the 60 meter dash with a record time of 6.77. His final race was in the 200 meter dash where he won the event by .01 seconds at 21.50.

Both Corbett and Zallow were also recipients of the Alfreeda Goff Athlete of the Year award.

Youngstown State  Field Freshman of the Year Tim Holzapfel won the Heptathlon with 5,276 total points through seven events. Classmate Brendon Lucas was awarded Freshman of the Year for Running. On the women’s side, Youngstown State teammates Jaliyah Elliot and Chandler Killins were given top honors for their season performances. Elliot came in second place in both the 60 meter dash and the 200 meter hurdles with times of 7.65 and 25.10 seconds. Elliot won the Running Freshman of the Year for award and Killins was handed the Field Freshman of the Year Award.

Youngstown State also took home both first place wins in the men’s and women’s high jump event. Abby Jones cleared a 1.72 meters to claim the top spot on the women’s side, while Arnaldo Morales won the men’s high jump with a mark of 2.08 meters. Morales was also awarded the Championship Outstanding Field Performer alongside UIC’s Shaun Wollanuwber. Sophomore Wollanweber was crowned as the men’s triple jump winner with a top finish of 14.22 meters.

The women’s triple jump winner was Milwaukee’s Mellissa Kirchoff who registered a distance of 12.16 meters. Kirchoff also had a strong showing in the 60 meter hurdles, registering a second place time of 8.66 seconds. After impressive field performances throughout the championship both Kirchoff and Corbett were co-recipients of the Championship Outstanding Field Performer Award.

Junior Ryan Booth of Youngstown State defended his shot put title on his fifth attempt with a throw of 18.40 meters. Booth won the event by 1.34 meters.

Youngstown State also earned first place wins in the 60 meter dash, 60 meter hurdles, and the 200 meters. Taylor Thompkins took a first place in the 60 meter dash with a time of 7.62 seconds.  Amber Eles gained 10 in points in the 60 meter hurdles with a top finish of 8.44 seconds. Senior Taylor McDonald won a close race in the 200 meter event with a time of 24.90.

4:59.73 was the top women’s 1 mile time, won by Elizabeth Owen of Valparaiso. Owen was awarded the Championship Outstanding Performer for Running.
Wright State senior Alexandra Brown came in first place in the women’s 3000 meter run with a time of 10:05.57. In the men’s 3000 meter event, Detroit Mercy’s Ben Kendall registered a first place finish at 8:22.42.

Kate Novacek of Milwaukee successfully defended her title in the 400 meter event with a time of 56.17. On the men’s side,Senior Nate Pozolinski scored in three events to lead the Milwaukee men's team to a third place finish.

The men of Oakland collected first place finishes in from senior Bryce Stroede in the 1 mile run with a time of 4:09.23 and Corey Goodloe in the 400 meter event with a top time of 48.84. Senior Austin Dawn placed first in the 800 meter at 1:55.68. Lydia Stanley also earned a first place finish in the women’s 800, defending her title with a time of 2:14.25 seconds.

In the last event of the championship, both the Oakland men’s and women’s 4x400 teams finished first in the event with the women’s team of Chanel Gardner, Andrea Koenigsknech, Lydia Stanley, and Sydney Sterling registering a time of 3:52.28. Tre Brown, Austin Davis, Corey Goodloe, and Zach Joyce won the men’s event with a mark 3:17.08 seconds.

The 2017Horizon League Outdoor Track and Field Championships will be held May 5-7 in Youngstown, Ohio and hosted by Youngstown State.

Women's Team Scores
1 Youngstown St. 183
2 Wis.-Milwaukee 140
3 Oakland 138
4 Northern Kentucky 70
5 Wright State 53
6 Detroit 36
7 Valparaiso 23
8 Illinois-Chicago 16
9 Cleveland St. 4

Men's Team Scores
1  Youngstown St. 188
2  Oakland 157
3  Wis.-Milwaukee 108
4  Valparaiso 59
5  Illinois-Chicago 51
6  Detroit Mercy 30
6  Northern Kentucky 30

Tags: Detroit Mercy - Track and Field · Horizon League - Track and Field · Milwaukee - Track and Field · Northern Kentucky - Track and Field · Oakland - Track and Field · UIC - Track and Field · Valparaiso - Track and Field · Wright State - Track and Field · Youngstown State - Track and Field
« Return to Previous Page