Release  Jennifer Beck ·

Final Results

Youngstown, Ohio – Youngstown State Men continued a strong showing in day two to claim the 2016 Horizon League Men’s Indoor Track and Field Championship. On the women’s side, Oakland edged out reigning champion Youngstown State by four points to win the 2016 Horizon League Women’s Indoor Track and Field Championship.

This is the first time since 2003 that the Youngstown State men have won the championship and the first time for the Oakland women to win since joining the Horizon League.

Youngstown State field Freshman of the Year Isaac Agyemang won the Heptathlon with 4,622 total points through seven events.

Milwaukee swept the high jump as senior Brett Pozolinski cleared a height of 2.14 meters to finish first in the high jump. Pozolinski was named Championship Outstanding Performer for the field events.  Sophomore Rylee Anderson was crowned the champion clearing a height of 1.69 meters.

UIC senior Jordan Banks jumped 14.61 meters to win the triple jump. On the women’s side Youngstown State freshman Chontel Fils took top honors with a jump of 12.20 meters.

Youngstown State proved strong in the shot put placing first on the men’s and women’s side. Sophomore Ryan Booth took the top honors with a throw of 17.00 meters. With a throw of 15.44 meters Championship Outstanding Performer for Field Events Jayne Corbett smashed the previous Horizon League record of 14.60 meters.

Individual scoring champion Bryce Stroede of Oakland broke the WATTS record with his first place finish in the mile with a time of 4:05.04. On the women’s side co-championship outstanding performer Valparaiso Elizabeth Bloy crossed the finish line first with a time of 5:01.89.

Chad Zallow of Youngstown State continued his successful freshman season winning the 60 meter hurdles with a time of 7.84 seconds. Coming back for the 60 meter dash Zallow crossed the line at a time of 6.81 seconds, tying the WATTS record in the event.  Zallow also was named Alfreeda Goff Athlete of Year along with being named Freshman of the Year for running events. In the women’s 60 meter hurdles senior Shatasia Walker of Youngstown State finished first in a time of 8.72 seconds.

Finishing the day with two first place finishes and two broken records was Milwaukee senior Marquis Johnson. Earning the Championship Outstanding Performer for running events Johnson broke the WATTS record in the 200 meter dash with a time of 21.56 seconds. For the third year in a row the senior won the 400, this time breaking the WATTS record with a time of 47.33 seconds. Milwaukee junior Kate Novacek ran a time of 56.26 to claim first in the women’s 400 meter dash.

Individual Scoring Champion Youngstown State senior Nina Grambling defended her 60 meter dash title with a time of 7.55 seconds. In addition Grambling won the 200 meter dash for the second year in a row with a time of 24.48 seconds.

Oakland took both the men and women 800 meter titles with senior Christopher Scott running a time of 1:54.21 while junior Lydia Stanley ran a time of 2:15.38.

Continuing their strong showing in the long distance events, Oakland swept the 3,000-meter run.  Stroede won his second event of the day with a time of 8:23.65.  The Golden Grizzlies placed five runners in the top eight to earn a nine point advantage in the second to last event of the night. Freshman of the year Rachel Levy finished first with a time of 9:58.19. Co-championship Outstanding Performer Miranda Haas placed second.

In the last event of the championship, Milwaukee men claimed the 4x4 crown running a time of 3:14.40. On the women’s side in a tight battle for first place Youngstown State came out on top with a time of 3:51.78.

Youngstown State head coach Brian Gorby was named the Men's Coach of the Year. Oakland head coach Paul Rice was named Women's Coach of the Year.

Men’s Standings:
Youngstown State 197
Milwaukee 132
Oakland 126
Valparaiso 68
UIC 66
Detroit 51
Northern Kentucky 18

Women’s Standings:
Oakland 159
Youngstown State 155
Milwaukee 121
Northern Kentucky 68
UIC 57.50
Detroit 42
Wright State 31.50
Valparaiso 25

Alfreeda Goff Athlete of the Year:
Chad Zallow, Youngstown State
Leah Holmes, Milwaukee

Freshman of the Year for Running Events:
Chad Zallow, Youngstown State
Rachel Levy, Oakland

Freshman of the Year for Field Events:
Isaac Agyemang, Youngstown State
Chontel Fils, Youngstown State

Championship Outstanding Performer for Running Events:
Marquis Johnson, Milwaukee
Elizabeth Bloy, Valparaiso
Miranda Haas, Oakland

Championship Outstanding Performer for Field Events:
Brett Pozolinski, Milwaukee
Jayne Corbett, Youngstown State

Individual Scoring Champion:
Bryce Stroede, Oakland
Nina Grambling, Youngstown State

Tags: Detroit Mercy - Track and Field · Horizon League - Track and Field · Milwaukee - Track and Field · Northern Kentucky - Track and Field · Oakland - Track and Field · UIC - Track and Field · Valparaiso - Track and Field · Wright State - Track and Field · Youngstown State - Track and Field
« Return to Previous Page