Release  Craig Hammel ·

The Wright State Raiders swept a doubleheader with UIC on Friday to clinch the 2016 Horizon League baseball regular season title. By virtue of winning the regular season championship, Wright State will be the No. 1 seed in the 2016 baseball championship and host the tournament in Fairborn, Ohio at Nischwitz Stadium.

Wright State entered the weekend with a four game lead on second-place UIC and needed to win both games against the Flames Friday afternoon to clinch the outright regular season title. The Raiders did just that as they sneaked by UIC, 5-4, in the first game, before downing the Flames, 9-4, in the second contest.

The 2016 regular season title is Wright State's fifth since joining the Horizon League and is the Raiders fourth in the last seven seasons.

The top six teams in the final regular season standings will advance to the championship. Wright State, along with Milwaukee, Oakland, UIC and Valparaiso have clinched a spot in the tournament. Northern Kentucky and Youngstown State are battling for the final spot in the championship.

The 2016 Horizon League Baseball Championship will be played at Wright State's Nischwitz Stadium with play starting on Wednesday, May 25 with games between the No. 3 and 6 seeds and the No. 4 and 5 seeds. The winners of those two games will advance to Thursday, while the losers are eliminated from the tournament. The top-two seeds receive a bye into Thursday's action. The four teams that play on Thursday will need to lose twice to be eliminated from the tournament. The championship game is scheduled to be played on Saturday, May 28 at noon ET. If the winning team in Saturday's championship game is from the loser's bracket, the two teams will meet again Saturday at 4 p.m. ET with the winner of that game capturing the tournament title.

An All-Session pass for the 2016 Championship will cost $15 for adults and $10 for youth. A single day pass will cost $7 for an adult and $5 for youth.

All games of the tournament will be aired on ESPN3.

2016 Horizon League Baseball Championship Schedule
Nischwitz Stadium - Fairborn, Ohio (All Times ET)
Wednesday, May 25

Game 1: 12:00 p.m. - (5) Seed vs. (4) Seed (Losing Team Eliminated)
Game 2: 4:00 p.m. - (6) Seed vs. (3) Seed (Losing Team Eliminated)
Thursday, May 26
Game 3: 11:00 a.m. - (1) Wright State vs. lowest advancing seed from Wednesday
Game 4: 3:00 p.m. - (2) Seed vs. highest advancing seed from Wednesday
Game 5: 7:00 p.m. - Game 3 Loser vs. Game 4 Loser (Losing Team Eliminated)
Friday, May 27
Game 6: 12:00 p.m. - Game 3 Winner vs. Game 4 Loser 
Game 7: 4:00 p.m. - Game 6 Loser vs. Game 5 Winner (Losing Team Eliminated)
Saturday, May 28
Game 8: 12:00 p.m. - Championship Game: Game 6 Winner vs. Game 7 Winner
Game 9: 4:00 p.m. - Championship Game: Game 6 Winner vs. Game 7 Winner
*-Game 9 is only played if Game 7 Winner beats Game 6 Winner in the first game on Saturday

Tags: Horizon League - Baseball · Wright State - Baseball
« Return to Previous Page