Release  Bill Potter · @ ·

2015 NCAA Division I Baseball Championship Bracket | Champaign Regional Tournament Central

INDIANAPOLIS -- Wright State was tabbed as a No. 3 seed in the Champaign Regional for the NCAA Baseball Championship. The Raiders will face No. 2 seed Notre Dame on Friday, May 29, at 1 p.m. ET from Illinois Field in Champaign, Ill.

Wright State (41-15) earned the Horizon League's automatic bid on Saturday, claiming the tournament championship over Milwaukee. With 41 wins, the Raiders have won the second-most games in school history. The Raiders are making their fifth appearance in the NCAA Division I Regionals and first since 2011.

The No. 3 seed is the highest by a Horizon League team since the tournament format changed in 1999. League teams have one at least one game at the regional in each of the last two seasons, with Valparaiso and Youngstown State each going 1-2 in 2013 and 2014.

Illinois, which was tabbed the No. 6 national seed, will host the regional, opposing fourth-seeded Ohio. The double-elimination regional will be played May 29-June 1. The regional winners will move on to the best two-of-three Super Regionals, with the victors advancing to the College World Series in Omaha, Neb., June 13-24.

Champaign Regional Schedule (All Times Eastern)
Friday, May 29
Game 1 -- #2 seed Notre Dame (36-21) vs. #3 seed Wright State (41-15), 1:00 pm
Game 2 -- #1 seed Illinois (47-8-1) vs. #4 seed Ohio  (36-19), 8:00 pm

Saturday, May 30
Game 3 -- Game 1 loser vs. Game 2 loser, TBA
Game 4 -- Game 1 winner vs. Game 2 winner, TBA

Sunday, May 31
Game 5 -- Game 3 winner vs. Game 4 loser, TBA
Game 6 -- Game 4 winner vs. Game 5 winner, TBA

Monday, June 1
Game 7 (if necessary) -- Game 6 winner vs. Game 6 loser, TBA

Tags: Horizon League - Baseball · Wright State - Baseball
« Return to Previous Page