Release  Craig Hammel ·

The Wright State Raiders clinched the Horizon League regular season title in baseball on Sunday with a 7-3 win over visiting Youngstown State.

The Raiders are now 21-2 in League play this season and have won 13 consecutive conference games.

Wright State by virtue of winning the regular season title will be the No. 1 seed in the Horizon League tournament. This year's Horizon League tournament will be hosted by Milwaukee and will be played May 21-25 at Kapco Park in Mequon, Wis.

Wright State's first action of the tournament will be on Thursday, May 22 at 8 p.m. (ET) against the lowest seeded-team that wins a first round game on Wednesday.

With two weeks left in the regular season, UIC is 15-9 in League play and has a four-game lead for the No. 2 seed over Milwaukee and Valparaiso who are both 8-10 in conference action. The No. 2 seed, like top-seeded Wright State, receives a bye into Thursday's action. The tournament will start on Wednesday, May 21 with the No. 4-seed taking on the No. 5-seed at 12 p.m. (ET) and the No. 3-seed facing the No. 6-seed at 4 p.m. (ET).

2014 HL Baseball Tournament Bracket

Tags: Wright State - Baseball
« Return to Previous Page