Release  Horizon League · @ ·

CLEVELAND - No. 2 seed Wright State (30-28-1) upended No. 1 seed Cleveland State (44-15), 6-3, in the final game of the 2010 Horizon League Softball Championship.  The Raiders earn their third title in the last four years and pick up the conference's automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament.

Wright State jumped on the scoreboard first in the third inning as Louie Haney singled to left center, scoring teammate Katie Kine.  On the next series, Kristen Bradshaw stole third and continued home on an error by the CSU shortstop.  To finish the offensive onslaught, Frost connected on an infield-RBI single, brining the WSU lead to 3-0.

Raider Mollie Berry extended the Wright State advantage to 4-0 as she scored off a bases-loaded walk in the top of the fourth inning.

In the bottom of the fourth, the Vikings retaliated as freshman slugger Dara Toman belted a three-run homer, brining CSU back to within one at 4-3.  Her 16th jack of the season bounced off the top of the left-center fence and out of the park.

The Raiders added two insurance runs in the fifth inning off an RBI double from senior Jamie Perkins and an RBI-infield single form Berry, securing the 6-3 victory.

ESPNU is scheduled to televise the NCAA Tournament Selection Show on Sunday at 10 p.m. ET.

See below for a listing of the All-Tournament awards.

Horizon League All-Tournament Team

Jenny Esparza, Fr., Butler

Jessica Burt, Jr., Cleveland State

Amanda Macenko, Sr., Cleveland State

Amy Powell, Jr., Cleveland State

Alex Lagesse, So., Valparaiso

Kristen Bradshaw, Sr., Wright State (MVP)

Allison Cox, Sr., Wright State

Melanie Heyne, Sr., Wright State

Justine Shilt, Jr., Wright State

Batting Champion:  Justine Shilt, Jr., Wright State

Defensive Player of the Championship:  Kristen Bradshaw, Sr., Wright State

Pitcher of the Championship:  Melanie Heyne, Sr., Wright State

Tags: Cleveland State - Softball · Horizon League - Softball · Wright State - Softball
« Return to Previous Page