Release  Horizon League ·

Nov. 3, 2004

Galena, OH - Wright State became the second team in the history of the Horizon League to capture five men's golf titles. The only other school to reach the feat is Oral Roberts, who won the championship six-times (1980-85) as a former member of the Midwestern Collegiate Conference.

With wind chills dipping into the 30's and patchy rain on and off all day, Wright State defeated Butler (20-21) in a one-hole playoff for the championship. The playoff was forced after Butler's Jonathan Novak drained a 20-footer on the final hole in the final group on Tuesday at the Royal American Golf Course in Galena, Ohio.

Although the Raiders (290-295-312) and Bulldogs (294-290-313) each tied for first with a three-round score of 897, Wright State earned the league's NCAA Tournament automatic bid by winning the playoff tie-breaker.

UW-Green Bay shot a 908 (301-294-313) to grab third-place. Detroit (303-300-308-911) landed in the fourth spot followed by Cleveland State (299-303-315-917) in fifth. Youngstown State (312-315-331-967) finished in six, while Loyola rounded the scoring with a 967 (321-315-331).

Wright State captured the championship with only two individuals in the top 10. Tate Prows led the Raiders as he tied for third with a 220 (71-71-78), while teammate Brandon Judy tied for ninth (74-75-77-226). Wright State, however, took three of the next five slots (Brandon Martin, 12th; Michael Tipton, T-13th; Brandon Knutson, T-15th).

Butler and UW-Green Bay dominated the individual competition taking three spots each in top 10. The Bulldogs' Jonathan Novak finished in second (71-69-78-218), while Will Turner finished third (75-73-72-220) and Colin Christie in sixth (71-72-80-223). The Phoenix were led by David Barse who shot a three-round total of 221 (74-72-75), as teammates Eric Mabee (74-72-80) and Jason Hill (77-72-77) tied for ninth with a 226.

Youngstown State's Nate Komsa captured medalist honors after he finished with a 217 (72-70-75) for the tournament. He was the lone Penguin in the top 10.

Detroit and Cleveland State filled spots seven and eight. Titan Kyler Murphy finished the tournament with a 224 (75-75-74), while the Vikings' Billy Houle tallied a three-round total of 225 (75-72-78).


1. Wright State** 290-295-312=897
2. Butler 294-290-313=897
3. UW-Green Bay 301-294-313=908
4. Detroit 303-300-308=911
5. Cleveland State 299-303-315=917
6. Youngstown State 312-304-312=928
7. Loyola 321-315-331=967

**- Playoff winner


1. Nate Komsa, YSU* 72-70-75=217
2. Jonathan Novak, BU* 71-69-78=218
T-3. Will Turner, BU* 75-73-72=220
T-3. Tate Prows, WSU* 71-71-78=220
5. David Barse, UWGB* 74-72-75=221
6. Colin Christie, BU* 71-72-80=223
7. Kyler Murphy, UDM* 75-75-74=224
8. Billy Houle, CSU 75-72-78=225
T-9. Eric Mabee, UWGB 74-72-80=226
T-9. Jason Hill, UWGB 77-72-77=226
T-9. Brandon Judy, WSU 74-75-77=226

* -- Denotes All-Tournament Team

Complete Final Results (.pdf)
Day One Results (.pdf)

« Return to Previous Page
Official Corporate Partners