Release  Bill Potter · @ ·

INDIANAPOLIS -- Milwaukee senior Helen Steinhauser has been named the Horizon League Women’s Soccer Player of the Year, while Detroit junior Kaitlyn Quarrell earned Offensive Player of the Year accolades. Wright State’s Ini Umotong collected Newcomer of the Year honors, while teammate Lauren Patterson was voted the Defensive Player of the Year.

The preseason co-favorite in the Horizon League, Detroit earned a share of the regular season title as well, with Nora Abolins winning Goalkeeper of the Year honors. For the third time in his career and first since 2005, Detroit’s Mike Lupenec was tabbed the League’s Coach of the Year by his peers.

Steinhauser collected the most points in voting to earn Player of the Year honors. In her senior season, the midfielder led a young Milwaukee squad in the midfield, excelling at both ends of the field. Steinhauser was the only player in the Horizon League to garner votes for both the offensive and defensive player of the year. Entering the Horizon League Tournament, Steinhauser is fifth on the Panthers with seven points.

One of the top scorers in the League, Quarrell ranked in the top 10 in goals, assists and points, matching teammate Abby McCollum for the Titans’ lead with 11 points on the season. Quarrell’s offensive talents helped Detroit claim a share of its first regular season title since 1996.

Her teammate Abolins anchored the back line for the Titans, turning in a League-best .879 save percentage to go along with a 0.52 goals-against-average. Abolins’ eight shutouts were second in the conference, giving her 24 for her career, a new Detroit record.

Patterson led a Wright State defense that has allowed just 13 goals this season. After a one-year absence, the 5-foot-11 senior was voted First Team All-League after adding two goals for the Raiders.

In her first year with Wright State, Umotong led the Horizon League with 16 points, netting seven goals to pace the conference as well. Umotong was one of three players in the League to tally a hat trick this year, picking up three goals on Sept. 24.

Regular season co-champions, Milwaukee and Detroit each put three players onto the First Team, as Steinhauser was joined by fellow Panthers Kelly Lewers and Kelsey Holbert. Alyssa Riley rounded out the Detroit trio with Quarrell and Abolins. Luisa Desario and Rachel Hoaglin represented Valparaiso, while Loyola put Jessica Hubly on the team. Patterson was Wright State’s lone first team pick, while Jade Flory was Youngstown State’s first First Team selection since 2006.

The Horizon League Women’s Soccer Championship kicks off on Tuesday, Oct. 30, when No. 3 Valparaiso hosts No. 6 Loyola at 4 p.m. ET; three hours later, No. 4 Youngstown State welcomes No. 5 Wright State at 7 p.m. ET.  No. 1 Milwaukee will square off against the lowest remaining seed while No. 2 Detroit will meet the highest remaining team in the semifinals, which begin at 5 p.m. ET on Friday, Nov. 2.  The championship contest will commence at 2 p.m. ET on Sunday, Nov. 4. Milwaukee will be the host for the semifinals and finals.

The semifinals and championship will be carried live on the Horizon League Network at HorizonLeague.com.

2012 Horizon League Award Winners
First Team All-Horizon League
Name                                                       Pos.      Year
Helen Steinhauser, Milwaukee          M          Sr.
Kaitlyn Quarrell, Detroit                        F          Jr.        
Lauren Patterson, Wright State          D          Sr.
Luisa Desario, Valparaiso                  M          Sr.
Alyssa Riley, Detroit                             M          So.
Kelly Lewers, Milwaukee                     F          So.
Rachel Hoaglin, Valparaiso               M          Sr.
Jessica Hubly, Loyola                         M          Sr.
Jade Flory, Youngstown State           F          So.
Kelsey Holbert, Milwaukee                M          So.
Nora Abolins, Detroit                          GK        Jr.

Second Team All-Horizon League
Name                                                     Pos.      Year
Megan Braatz, Green Bay                   M          Sr.
Krissy Dorre, Milwaukee                    F          Jr.
Chelsie Stokes, Loyola                      M          Sr.
Jaime Avona, Cleveland State          M          Sr.
Abby McCollum, Detroit                      F          Jr.
Amy Kauffung, Milwaukee                  M          So.
Chelsea Haney, Youngstown State F          So.
Allie Metzler, Wright State                   D          So.
Sarah Dzuris, Detroit                          D          Sr.
Valerie Gonyo, Loyola                        D          So.
Brooke McCurdy, Wright State         GK        Jr.                  

All-Newcomer Team
Name                                                    Pos.      Year
Ini Umotong, Wright State                 F          Fr.
Rita Craven, Valparaiso                    M          Fr.
Sarrah Ludwig, Valparaiso               F          Fr.
Heather Brown, Detroit                      M          Fr.
Mariah Vichich, Loyola                       D          Fr.
Vickie Havas, Cleveland State         F          Fr.
Sydney Born, Green Bay                   D          Fr.
Ashli Gogolin, Wright State               M          Fr.
Chelsey Haney, Youngstown State F          So.
Tyesha Kizer, Youngstown State     M          Fr.
Jenny Fassbinder, Valparaiso         M          Fr.
Shay Sade, Youngstown State.        D          Fr.

Player of the Year: Helen Steinhauser, Milwaukee
Offensive Player of the Year: Kaitlyn Quarrell, Detroit
Defensive Player of the Year: Lauren Patterson, Wright State
Goalkeeper of the Year: Nora Abolins, Detroit
Newcomer of the Year: Ini Umotong, Wright State
Coach of the Year: Mike Lupenec, Detroit

Tags: Cleveland State - Women's Soccer · Detroit Mercy - Women's Soccer · Green Bay - Women's Soccer · Horizon League - Women's Soccer · Loyola - Women's Soccer · Milwaukee - Women's Soccer · Wright State - Women's Soccer · Youngstown State - Women's Soccer
« Return to Previous Page