Release  Horizon League · @ ·

By Shannon Watson

Day One Results | Day Two Heat Sheet

YOUNGSTOWN, Ohio – The first day has been completed at the 2015 Horizon League Track and Field Championship hosted at the Watson and Tressel Training Site in Youngstown, Ohio.

Starting things off, Nate Pozolinski of Milwaukee is currently leading in the men’s heptathlon with a total of 2,109 points after four events. His teammate, Will Sutton, is in second place with 1,964 points. The event will conclude with 60m hurdles, pole vault, and 1000m on Sunday.

In the women’s pentathlon, Detroit’s Hana Hunt leads with 3,189 points. In second place is Sarah Ann Blount of Wright State with 3,105. The first record broken in the competition took place during high jump of the pentathlon. Youngstown State’s Chenera Lacey jumped for a new high of 1.64m breaking the previous record held by Blount, which was at 1.62m.

Valparaiso swept men and women’s pole vault. Justin Zosso repeated his title as men’s pole vault champion with a vault of 4.65m. Sarah Peters won with a height of 3.61m. In long jump, Milwaukee swept both honors as well. Nate Pozolinski notched first place with 7.19m for the men and Alisha Harper had a jump of 5.68m to win for the women.

Connor Neu of Youngstown State set a new record on his way to winning the men’s weight throw for a second year with a toss of 20.94m. He beat the previous record of 20.67m set by Steve Bartholomew of Valparaiso back in 2008. On the women’s side, Wright State’s Natassia Roberts threw for a distance of 15.19m for the top spot.

In prelim action, Youngstown State’s Nina Grambling broke fellow Penguin Ciara Jarrett’s 200m dash record of 24.48 with a new time of 24.43. Finals for the event will take place on Sunday. Marquis Johnson of Milwaukee set a new WATTS record in the men’s 200m dash with a time of 21.57 beating out the previous record held by Julian Smith of Valparaiso.

Tess Erhardt from UIC won the women’s 5000m run with a time of 17:18.86, while Youngstown State swept top honors for the men’s 5000m run. Eric Rupe won with the time of 14:49.68, while teammates Austin McLean and Ryan Sullivan finished second and third, respectively

The day concluded with the 4000m distance medley relay. Detroit took first place in the women’s race with 12:24.77 and consisted of Sara Taylor, Liz Mullen, Sydnie Fetherholf, and Louisa Coppola. For the men, Milwaukee’s team of Tony Sustachek, Taylor Koss, Reed Schmidt, and Marcus Paulson won with a time of 10:00.17.

The Horizon League Track and Field Championships will conclude Sunday beginning at 9 a.m. Final day events include: heptathlon, high jump, triple jump, shot put, mile run, 60m hurdles, 400m, 60m, 800m, 200m, 3,000m and the 4x400m relay. Coverage of the final day will be available on ESPN3 at 12:55 p.m. ET.

Women’s Team Standings:
Oakland 29
Wright State 28
Detroit 22
Milwaukee 20
UIC 19
Valparaiso 19
Youngstown State 18

Men’s Team Standings:
Valparaiso 42
Youngstown State 38
UIC 31
Milwaukee 27
Detroit 10
Oakland 7

Tags: Detroit Mercy - Track and Field · Horizon League - Track and Field · Milwaukee - Track and Field · Oakland - Track and Field · UIC - Track and Field · Valparaiso - Track and Field · Wright State - Track and Field · Youngstown State - Track and Field
« Return to Previous Page