Hot Entry Video  Alex Kelly ·

No. 1 UIC: 6, No. 2 Youngstown State: 3

CHICAGO, ILL. – UIC defended their home field and took down Youngstown State 6-3 to win their first Horizon League Softball Championship since 2011.

Eventual MVP of the tournament, Tiana Mack-Miller got UIC on the board first with a sacrifice fly to center field that scored Lexi Watts in the bottom of the first inning. The Flames lead stretched to 4-0 after three innings after Jasmine Willis crushed a two-run home run over the left field wall in the third inning and Mack-Miler recorded an RBI single.

Those four runs were all that Elaine Heflin needed as the senior recorded her second win in the championship putting in 4.2 innings of work and striking out three hitters. Allie Trudeau finished the game throwing the last 2.1 innings for the Flames.

With the win UIC earns an automatic spot in the NCAA Tournament. The Flames will learn who they will be facing on Sunday, May 14 at 10:00pm ET on ESPN2.


All-Tournament Team
(MVP) Tianna Mack-Miller – UIC
Kayla Wedl – UIC
Elaine Heflin – UIC
Lexi Watts – UIC
Cali Mikovich – Youngstown State
Sarah Dowd – Youngstown State
Maddi Lusk – Youngstown State
Maria Lacatena – Youngstown State
Liz Murphy – Detroit Mercy
Savvy Ferstle – Detroit Mercy
Courtney Gilbert – Detroit Mercy
Gabby Magnifico – Valparaiso

Tags: Horizon League - Softball · UIC - Softball · Youngstown State - Softball
« Return to Previous Page