Release  Horizon League · @ ·

Wright State’s Shaunda Sandifer, UIC’s Janise Dismuke and Butler’s Maureen Bamiro have been named to the COBRA Magazine All-Midwest Region Volleyball Team.

Sandifer, a senior middle blocker from Calumet City, Ill., was a three time All-Horizon League honoree and led WSU with 311 kills and 114 blocks.  She ranked fifth in kills (2.96) and third in blocks (1.09) in the conference.  Sandifer finished her career with 1069 kills and 402 blocks.

Dismuke, a redshirt sophomore outside hitter from Peoria, Ill., finished second in the Horizon League in hitting percentage with a mark of .311 and ranked 10th in the conference in blocks with 0.94 per set.  Dismuke was second for the Flames in points this season with 331.5.

Bamiro, a junior middle blocker from Kalamazoo, Mich., helped the Bulldogs claim the 2010 Horizon League Championship title.  She was named to the All-Horizon League team this year and ranks in the top 10 in the conference in three different categories.  She is second in blocks (1.13) fifth in hitting (.295) and eighth in points (3.44).

Bamiro and the Bulldogs will face Dayton on Friday in the first round of the 2010 NCAA Tournament.

COBRA Magazine (www.cobramag.t83.net) is the first publication that showcases the talents of black volleyball players. The magazine released an All-National Team for the first time in 2009 and an All-Region Team for the first time this season.

COBRA's goal is to tell inspiring stories of black volleyball players that show young African American players that they too have opportunities to thrive in the sport despite cultural differences and economic disadvantages.

COBRA All-Midwest Region Team
Sabel Moffett, Northwestern, MB, Sr.
Alexis Mitchell, Wisconsin, MB, So.
Lena Oliver, Western Michigan, L, Fr.
Jessica Brown, Western Michigan, MB, So.
Isis Smalls, Chicago, OH, Sr.
Rayna Coleman, Otterbein, OH, Sr.
Ashley Turnage, Western Michigan, MB, Jr.
Jordanne Scott, Cincinnati, MB, So.
Ciara Jones, Marquette, OH, Jr.
Victoria Henson, Iowa State, OH, Sr. (Player of the Year)
Maureen Bamiro, Butler, MB, Jr.
Janise Dismuke, UIC, MH, So.
Shaunda Sandifer, Wright State, MB, Sr.

Erin Short, Eastern Michigan, OH, Fr.
Kyndra Abron, Michigan State, OH, Jr.

Honorable Mention
Alexis Matthews, Michigan State, MB, Fr.
Colleen Loftus, Miami, OH/DS, Jr.
Mariah Booth, Ohio State, MB, So.
Kate Letcher, DePaul, MB, Sr.
Jasmine Conner, Southern Illinois, MB, Sr.

Tags: Butler - Volleyball · UIC - Volleyball · Wright State - Volleyball
« Return to Previous Page