Release  Horizon League · @ ·

Saturday's Results in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

INDIANAPOLIS - The 2009 Horizon League Tennis Championships continued Saturday, as all 17 League squads were in action. In women's play, Youngstown State upset Cleveland State, 4-3, who had defeated the Penguins in the regular season by the same score, to advance to the semifinals. Milwaukee faced No. 3 Detroit, but fell 4-0 as the Titans moved on to face No. 2 Butler in the semifinals. There, the Titans pulled out a thriller and edged the Bulldogs 4-3 to secure their first championship appearance in school history. In other semifinal action, Youngstown State faced top-seeded UIC, but lost 4-0. The Flames advanced to the championship match and are seeking their eighth-consecutive League title under Head Coach Shannon Tully, and 13th in a row. In consolation action, Wright State defeated Valparaiso, 4-2, to go on to face Green Bay in the seventh-place match, where the Raiders fell to the Phoenix, 4-1. Cleveland State downed Milwaukee, 4-0, to win the fifth-place match.

In men's semifinal action, top-seeded Cleveland State and No. 2 UIC easily defeated Green Bay and Butler, respectively, by scores of 4-0 in each match. The Flames will face the Vikings in a rematch of last year's championship. Consolation matches were also played, with Youngstown State defeating Wright State, 4-2 and Detroit losing to Valpo, 4-1. The Penguins will meet the Crusaders in the fifth-place match.

The men's fifth-place and third-place matches will begin at 9:00 a.m., along with the women's third-place match. The men's and women's championship matches will start simultaneously at 10:30a.m. Eastern time, and will be streamed live on the Horizon League Network:

Men's Link: WATCH ON HLN

Women's Link: WATCH ON HLN

Tags: All Teams - Men's Tennis · All Teams - Women's Tennis
« Return to Previous Page
Official Corporate Partners