Hot Entry Video  Alex Kelly ·

#HLMSOC Scoreboard
#2 UIC – 2, #3 Milwaukee – 1 (OT)
#1 Wright State – 1 (6), #4 Oakland – 1 (5) (OT, PK’s)

DAYTON- Each of the two semifinal matchups went into overtime with UIC winning in the first overtime and Wright State advancing on penalty kicks.

Even though UIC outshot Milwaukee 18-6 for the game, the Flames faced an early deficit after Peter Raymonds tallied the first goal of the game for the Panthers just before the half. UIC rallied in the second half with the equalizer from Oscar Rivero in the 73rd minute to notch the game at one. After 90 minutes of play the teams went into overtime and Oscar Gonzalez punched the Flames' ticket to the championship game with the golden goal in the 97th minute.

Game two of the semifinals was just as thrilling with Wright State advancing on penalty kicks against Oakland. The Raiders potent offense led by Horizon League Player of the Year Peguy Ngatcha had 22 shots on goal for the game, but had little to show for it until A.J. Paterson had the go-ahead goal in the 80th minute. Within two minutes the Golden Grizzlies responded with an Austin Ricci goal to force overtime and ultimately penalty kicks. Neither team could miss in penalty kicks with each squad scoring their first five attempts. A Joel Sundell save for the Raiders in the sixth round of penalty kicks was the difference maker in Wright State moving on to the finals.

The top two seeds, No. 2 UIC and No. 1 Wright State square off in the championship game on Saturday, Nov. 10 at 6:00pm ET at Alumni Field with the match being streamed on ESPN3. Visit the Championship Central tab on the home page for additional information on the match.

Tags: Horizon League - Men's Soccer · Milwaukee - Men's Soccer · Oakland - Men's Soccer · UIC - Men's Soccer · Wright State - Men's Soccer
« Return to Previous Page