Blog  Jeremiah Ingram ·

INDIANAPOLIS – Oakland earned its third consecutive McCafferty Trophy during the 2016-17 athletic season, scoring a combined 46.50 performance points between men’s and women’s sports. The Golden Grizzlies also claimed the men’s sports title with 23 total points. Youngstown State won the women’s sports title with 24 performance points. Both schools were honored during the Horizon League’s annual Executive Council meetings in Indianapolis.

Named in honor of James J. McCafferty, who served as the conference’s first commissioner from 1979-80, the McCafferty Trophy is awarded annually by the Horizon League to a member institution compiling the greatest number of performance points, based on its finish in the League’s 19 championship sports.

Oakland won Horizon League titles in men’s and women’s swimming and women’s cross country, while also sharing the men’s basketball regular season title. The Golden Grizzlies join Milwaukee (2004-06), Butler (1997-99), Notre Dame (1989-95) and Oral Roberts (1980-86) as McCafferty Trophy holders for three consecutive seasons.

Youngstown State finished atop the women’s standings with 24 points and won a Horizon League-best six conference championships. The Penguins dominated on the track, winning both men’s and women’s indoor and outdoor track and field championships and the men’s cross country title. Youngstown State also shared the women’s tennis regular season crown and won the league tournament.

UIC and Cleveland State both notched three Horizon League championships during the 2016-17 season and placed third and fourth, respectively, in the final McCafferty Trophy standings.

For the sports of men’s and women’s soccer, volleyball, men’s and women’s basketball, softball and baseball, points are awarded based on combined regular season and championship finishes.  For all other sports, points are based on performance in the League championships.

McCafferty Trophy Standings
Oakland  46.5
Youngstown State 42
UIC   34.5
Cleveland State  33
Wright State  32.5
Milwaukee  31.5
Northern Kentucky 26.5
Valparaiso  20.5
Green Bay  19.5
Detroit Mercy  12.5

Men’s Sports Totals
Oakland  23
UIC   21.5
Youngstown State 18
Wright State  17
Valparaiso  15.5
Northern Kentucky 13
Cleveland State  13
Milwaukee  10
Green Bay  5.5
Detroit Mercy  4.5

Women’s Sports Totals
Youngstown State 24
Oakland  23.5
Milwaukee  21.5
Cleveland State  20
Wright State  15.5
Green Bay  14
Northern Kentucky 13.5
UIC   13
Detroit Mercy  8
Valparaiso  5

All-Time McCafferty Trophy Winners
2017 Oakland 
2016 Oakland 
2015 Oakland 
2014 Milwaukee 
2013 Cleveland State 
2012 Milwaukee 
2011 Butler 
2010 Butler 
2009 Milwaukee 
2008 Cleveland State 
2007 Butler 
2006 Milwaukee 
2005 Milwaukee 
2004 Milwaukee 
2003 Butler 
2002 Butler 
2001 Milwaukee 
2000 UIC 
1999 Butler 
1998 Butler 
1997 Butler 
1996 Northern Illinois
1995 Notre Dame 
1994 Notre Dame 
1993 Notre Dame 
1992 Notre Dame 
1991 Notre Dame 
1990 Notre Dame 
1989 Notre Dame 
1988 Evansville 
1987 Evansville 
1986 Oral Roberts 
1985 Oral Roberts 
1984 Oral Roberts 
1983 Oral Roberts 
1982 Oral Roberts 
1981 Oral Roberts 
1980 Oral Roberts

Tags: All Teams - All Sports · Horizon League - All Sports · Oakland - All Sports · Youngstown State - All Sports
« Return to Previous Page