Release  Adam Skaggs ·

At the conclusion of the regular season, the field has been set for the 2016 Horizon League Women’s Soccer Championship.

Last night Milwaukee clinched the No. 1 spot for the second year straight with their 6-1 victory over Cleveland State. The Panthers finish the regular season 8-1-0 and will host the Horizon League Women’s Soccer Tournament November 3-5 at Engelmann Stadium.  This is the 16th time in the last 17 years that the Panthers have earned at least a share of the Horizon League title. Milwaukee’s tournament will begin on Thursday in the semifinals scheduled for 7:00 p.m. CT, with the Panthers facing the lowest-remaining seed.

Detroit Mercy secured the No. 2 seed on Friday with a 2-1 overtime road win against UIC. The Titans join Milwaukee receiving a bye into the semifinals and will play in the first semifinal game on Thursday starting at 4:00 p.m. CT

The tournament begins with First Round quarterfinal matches on Monday, October 31 with Northern Kentucky and Oakland hosting first round games.

Northern Kentucky is the No. 3 seed and will play Wright State the No. 6 seed at 7 p.m. ET Monday. After a head-to-head tiebreaker Oakland captured the No. 4 seed and will play Valparaiso the No. 5 seed at 7 p.m. ET Monday

Tags: Cleveland State - Women's Soccer · Detroit Mercy - Women's Soccer · Green Bay - Women's Soccer · Horizon League - Women's Soccer · Milwaukee - Women's Soccer · Northern Kentucky - Women's Soccer · Oakland - Women's Soccer · UIC - Women's Soccer · Wright State - Women's Soccer · Youngstown State - Women's Soccer
« Return to Previous Page