Release  Brett Williams ·

INDIANAPOLIS – Honoring student-athletes for their success both in competition and in the classroom, the Horizon League announced its 2016 Fall Academic All-League Teams on Friday. A total of 11 student-athletes from the sport of men’s soccer were honored in balloting by the League’s faculty athletics representatives.

Five of the ten Horizon League institutions were represented among the men’s soccer honorees with Detroit Mercy leading the pack with five recipients in Tommy Bowman, Spiro Pliakos, Matt Harkema, Matt DeVries and Adam Clauss. Cleveland State and Oakland each placed two on the team with Sergio Manesio and Aleksander Drobac honored for the Vikings and Zach Walker and Chase Jabbori recipients for the Golden Grizzlies. Student-athletes from Milwaukee and Valparaiso rounded out the team as the Panthers’ Francesco Saporito was awarded a spot as well as the Crusaders’ Suleiman Thomas.

The Horizon League recognizes student-athletes with seasonal Academic All-League Teams in each of its 19 championship sports. To be eligible for Academic All-Horizon League consideration, a student-athlete must have a cumulative grade-point-average of 3.20 or higher (based on a 4.00 scale) and have completed at least one year at the member institution, having earned 24 semester-hour or 36 quarter-hour credits.

Sergio Manesio, Cleveland State
Tommy Bowman, Detroit Mercy
Spiro Pliakos, Detroit Mercy
Francesco Saporito, Milwaukee
Zach Walker, Oakland
Suleiman Thomas, Valparaiso
Aleksander Drobac, Cleveland State
Matt Harkema, Detroit Mercy
Matt DeVries, Detroit Mercy
Adam Clauss, Detroit Mercy
Chase Jabbori, Oakland

Tags: Detroit Mercy - Men's Soccer · Horizon League - Men's Soccer · Milwaukee - Men's Soccer · Oakland - Men's Soccer · Valparaiso - Men's Soccer
« Return to Previous Page