Release  Adam Skaggs ·

Indianapolis - The Horizon League announced the Academic All-League Team for both men’s and women’s indoor track and field with a total of 30 student-athletes being recognized for their success both in competition and in the classroom. Faculty athletics representative and sports information directors from each institution casted their vote by ballot in deciding who would be awarded Academic All-League honors.

Seven institutions were represented on the Men’s Academic All-League Team with Milwaukee and Valparaiso at the top with three apiece, followed by Detroit Mercy, Oakland, UIC and Youngstown State with two each, while Northern Kentucky was awarded one honoree.

Eight of the nine teams were represented on the Women’s Academic All-League Team with Youngstown State topping the charts, having four student-athletes earning spots. Milwaukee had three student-athletes recognized, while Northern Kentucky and Valparaiso each had two players honored. Detroit Mercy, Milwaukee, Oakland, and UIC each had one honoree to round up the roster.

The Horizon League recognizes student-athletes with seasonal Academic All-League Teams in each of its 19 championship sports. To be eligible for Academic All-Horizon League consideration, a student-athlete must have a cumulative grade-point-average of 3.20 or higher (based on a 4.00 scale) and have completed at least one year at the member institution, having earned 24 semester-hour or 36 quarter-hour credits.

2016-2017 Men’s Indoor Track and Field Horizon League Academic All-Horizon League Team

Connor Hickey, Valparaiso
Montel Hall, Valparaiso
Adam Bruno, Valparaiso
Nate Pozolinski, Milwaukee
Kyle Becker, Milwaukee
Terry McMillan, Milwaukee
Christian Saporiti, UIC
Alex Bashqawi, UIC
Charlie Felton, Detroit Mercy
Ben Kendell, Detroit Mercy
Tyler Sirut, Oakland
George O’Connor, Oakland
Carl Zallow, Youngstown State
Chad Zallow, Youngstown State
Trase Milburn, Northern Kentuckya

2016-2017 Women’s Indoor Track and Field Horizon League Academic All-Horizon League Team

Sarina Mauerman, Youngstown State
Savannah Osborne, Youngstown State
Abby Jones, Youngstown State
Jaynee Corbett, Youngstown State
Alexandra Brown, Wright State
Katie Abrahamowicz, Wright State
Maria Heckman, Wright State
Liz Owen, Valparaiso
Kim Heiny, Valparaiso
Kelly Burrows, Northern Kentucky
BriAuna Keys, Northern Kentucky
Leah Holmes, Milwaukee
Kye Dozier, Detroit Mercy
Miranda Haas, Oakland
Brittany Schwarz, UIC

Tags: Detroit Mercy - Track and Field · Horizon League - Academics · Horizon League - Track and Field · Milwaukee - Track and Field · Northern Kentucky - Track and Field · Oakland - Track and Field · UIC - Track and Field · Valparaiso - Track and Field · Wright State - Track and Field · Youngstown State - Track and Field
« Return to Previous Page