Release  Horizon League · @ ·

*Release Courtesy of Green Bay Athletic Communications

CLEVELAND – Mehryn Kraker was announced as the female Division I-AAA ADA Scholar Athlete of the Year on Tuesday morning, adding yet another feather to her cap after what can be considered the most decorated individual seasons in program history. The winner on the men’s side was Nigel Williams-Goss from Gonzaga.

Kraker is currently pursuing her master’s degree in applied leadership in teaching and leadership and boasts a 3.947 GPA. She graduated last spring with a major in education with a minor in business administration from the University of Wisconsin-Green Bay.

"Our association is thrilled with the high quality of this year's group of women's and men's scholar-athlete award winners," stated Tim Hall, chair of the Division I-AAA Scholar-Athlete Team Selection Committee and athletics director at the University of Maryland Baltimore County. "Our basketball programs are the primary focus of I-AAA athletics and recognizing these scholar-athletes, the Scholar-Athletes of the Year and the postgraduate scholarship recipients for their outstanding accomplishments is very gratifying for our organization."

"Student-athletes invest so much time and energy to stay ahead in their studies, while giving their best in competition," said Troy Austin, president of the Division I-AAA Athletics Directors Association and athletics director at Longwood University. "It says a lot about a young person when they can perform at a high level in both areas. On behalf of the Division I-AAA Athletics Directors Association, I would like to congratulate the Scholar-Athletes of the Year and the postgraduate scholarship recipients for their accomplishments in the classroom and on the field. This deserving group of outstanding individuals exemplifies the student-athlete model."

Basketball players from all Division I-AAA ADA member institutions are eligible for these prestigious awards. Each of the nominees was required to have a minimum grade point average of 3.20 (on a 4.00 scale) in undergraduate study and have been a starter or important reserve with legitimate athletics credentials. Nominated student-athletes must have participated in at least 50 percent of the team's games listed on the nomination form. To be eligible for nomination to the Scholar-Athlete Team, he/she must have reached JUNIOR academic standing at their institution (ineligible athletics transfers are not eligible). To be eligible for the postgraduate scholarship, he/she must have completed eight semesters or the equivalent number of quarters at their institution. Preference was given to those on track to graduate in spring/summer 2017.

A special Review Committee of Division I-AAA athletics directors were responsible for selecting the winners. Completing this task were Committee Chair Tim Hall; Amanda Braun, Wisconsin-Milwaukee; Don DiJulia, St. Joseph's; Gene Doris, Fairfield; Bill Hogan, Seattle; Bill Husak, Loyola Marymount; Philip Hutcheson, Lipscomb; Scott Lazenby, Texas A&M Corpus Christi; and Jean Lenti Ponsetto, DePaul.

About Division I-AAA ADA: Now in its 16th year, the Division I-AAA Athletics Directors Association's mission is to enhance initiatives common to its Division I-AAA membership (the 99 Division I institutions that do not sponsor football), in particular, aspects related to their flagship basketball programs. For more information on the Division I-AAA ADA, please visit www.div1aaa-ada.com. The Division I-AAA ADA is administered by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA), which is in its 52nd year. For more information on NACDA and the 17 professional associations that fall under its umbrella, please visit www.nacda.com.

Women's Scholar-Athlete Team

Jordin AlexanderFlorida Gulf Coast University4.00Public Administration
Marissa JanningCreighton University3.45Organizational Leadership
Mehryn KrakerGreen Bay3.947Applied Leadership in Teaching & Leadership/Education
Kiara KudronGonzaga University3.95Organizational Leadership
Chatori MajorUNC Asheville3.648Health and Wellness
Sally McCabeBelmont University3.86Psychology
Taylor McCarleyUMBC3.42Psychology
Jacqlyn PossUniversity of Denver3.83Business Analytics
Brooke SchulteDePaul University3.676Health Sciences
Kylee SmithBelmont University3.898Business Administration

Tags: Green Bay - Women's Basketball · Horizon League - Women's Basketball
« Return to Previous Page