Release  Horizon League · @ ·

ATLANTA (Nov. 16, 2010) – Butler University junior guard Shelvin Mack was named to the 2010-11 Naismith preseason watch list, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced today.  This year’s diverse list includes the top men’s college basketball players from 44 schools around the country.

The watch list was compiled by the Atlanta Tipoff Club’s Board of Selectors, which based its criteria on player performances from the previous year and expectations for the 2010-11 college basketball season.  The Naismith Trophy presented by AT&T* will be awarded at the 2011 NCAA Men’s Final Four in Houston.

“This year’s watch list features an incredible array of talent from across the country, which will create a tremendous challenge for our voting academy in determining the winner of the most prestigious trophy in college basketball,” said Eric Oberman, Atlanta Tipoff Club executive director.

Since 2005, presenting sponsor AT&T has set the standard in allowing fans to participate in determining the trophy winner. Through the power and ease of text messaging, fan voting will account for 25 percent of all of the final results – more than any other national college basketball award.

In February, during CBS’ coverage of college basketball, the “AT&T at the Half” segment will feature a Naismith Trophy update highlighting the players in contention for the award.

“AT&T is excited to watch the performances of these student-athletes in the coming season, and we look forward to following their successes,” said Jason Simpson, executive director, AT&T Corporate Sponsorships.  “At AT&T, we’re all about connecting people to what matters most to them, so we’re proud to continue our relationship with the Naismith Trophy and give basketball fans a say in determining the next Men’s College Player of the Year.”

In late February, the Atlanta Tipoff Club’s Board of Selectors will compile a mid-season team of the top 30 players in the nation. Then in March, the Naismith Trophy voting academy will vote to narrow the list to the four finalists.

The Naismith Trophy is the most prestigious national award presented annually to college basketball’s player of the year. For more information, visit www.naismithawards.com.

Mack was earlier named to the Wooden Award watch list and was voted the Horizon League Preseason Player of the Year in October.

The Lexington, Ky.-native will attempt to lead #16/18 (AP/ESPN USA Today) Butler to a win in the Bluegrass State when the Bulldogs take on Louisville at 8 p.m. ET on Tuesday night.  The game will air on ESPN as part of the network's College Hoops Tip-off Marathon.

Tags: Butler - Men's Basketball
« Return to Previous Page