Release  Alex Kelly ·

INDIANAPOLIS – The field for the Horizon League Softball Championship is set with play to begin on Wednesday, May 10 in Chicago, Ill. UIC will host the double-elimination tournament from May 10-13 at Flames Field after winning the outright regular season title with an 20-4 record in league play. This marks the second year in a row that UIC will host with Valparaiso winning the tournament title last year as the No. 6 seed.

Youngstown State earned the first day bye as the No. 2 seed after winning their last 12 conference games in a row to finish with a 17-7 record in league.

The third and sixth seeds were separated by a game with Valparaiso notching the third spot with a 14-10 record. Wright State, also with a 14-10 league record, claimed the fourth seed. Detroit Mercy took the fifth seed and Oakland rounds out the field as the No. 6 seed.

The championship is set to begin on May 10 at 1:00pm ET with No. 5 Detroit Mercy taking on No. 4 Wright State at 1:00pm ET. All games will air on ESPN3 along with live stats. Additional information on the tournament can be found on the Championship Central page on HorizonLeague.com.

Final #HLSB Standings
1. UIC: 20-4
2. Youngstown State: 17-7
3. Valparaiso: 14-10
4. Wright State: 14-10
5. Detroit Mercy: 12-10
6. Oakland: 13-11
7. Northern Kentucky: 8-16
8. Cleveland State: 4-19
9. Green Bay: 3-18


Tags: Detroit Mercy - Softball · Horizon League - Softball · Oakland - Softball · UIC - Softball · Valparaiso - Softball · Wright State - Softball · Youngstown State - Softball
« Return to Previous Page