Release  Craig Hammel ·

Academic All League Release

INDIANAPOLIS – Honoring student-athletes for their success both in competition and in the classroom, the Horizon League announced its 2015 Spring Academic All-League Teams on Wednesday. A total of 90 student-athletes from eight spring sports were honored in balloting by the League’s faculty athletics representatives and sports information directors.

Youngstown State led the Horizon League with 18 honorees, followed by 16 from Oakland, 15 from Valparaiso and 11 from Milwaukee. UIC had eight winners, while Wright State had seven and Detroit finished with six, Green Bay five and Cleveland State rounded out the voting with four honorees.

The Horizon League recognizes student-athletes with seasonal Academic All-League Teams in each of its 19 championship sports. To be eligible for Academic All-Horizon League consideration, a student-athlete must have a cumulative grade-point-average of 3.20 or higher (based on a 4.00 scale) and have completed at least one year at the member institution, having earned 24 semester-hour or 36 quarter-hour credits.

Horizon League Academic All-Horizon League Teams – Spring 2015

Women’s Tennis (6)
Marta Burak, Youngstown State
Annina Brendel, Youngstown State
Christina Colarossi, Milwaukee
Keti Mebuke, UIC
Linsey Verstrepen, Wright State
Stephanie Londre, Green Bay

Men’s Tennis (6)
Michael Tenzer, Green Bay
Silviu Mistreanu, Youngstown State
Jeffrey Schorsch, Valparaiso
Lepoold Gomez Islinger, Green Bay
Manuel Bellutti, Cleveland State
Lauri Makikalli, Wright State

Baseball (13*)
Sam Koenig, Milwaukee
Michael Timm, Wright State
Nolan Lodden, Valparaiso
Luke Meeteer, Milwaukee
Robby Enslen, Oakland
Spencer Marentette, Oakland
Sean Murphy, Wright State
Mark Fowler, Wright State
Tyler Detmer, UIC
Mike Porcaro, Milwaukee
Dalton Lundeen, Valparaiso
Nate Palace, Valparaiso
Kevin Hix, Youngstown State

Softball (12)
Hailey Mohrfeld, Green Bay
Sara Cupp, Oakland
Sarah Hartley, Oakland
Miranda Castiglione, Youngstown State
Jackie Kisman, Oakland
Nena Doran, Cleveland State
Laura Swan, UIC
Elaine Heflin, UIC
Jess Gorman, Wright State
Courtnee Johnson, Oakland
Sarah Dowd, Youngstown State
Erica Hampton, UIC
Women’s Outdoor Track & Field (19)
Sarah Drozdowski, Valparaiso
Serena San Cartier, Oakland
Hannah Ropp, Youngstown State
Jessica Parham, Youngstown State
Louisa Coppola, Detroit
Miranda Haas, Oakland
Dana Clausen, Milwaukee
Ashley Burr, Oakland
McKenzie Sturtz, Youngstown State
Kate Novacek, Milwaukee
Brittany Stockmaster, Youngstown State
Shannon Marchant, Detroit
Nina Grambling, Youngstown State
Aisha Potts-Tyre, Detroit
Leah Holmes, Milwaukee
Kelli Wosick, Valparaiso
Liz Bloy, Valparaiso
Jenae Curley, Oakland
Jena Studabaker, Wright State

Men’s Outdoor Track & Field (19)
Eric Rupe, Youngstown State
Garrett Mathias, Youngstown State
Elijah Owen, Valparaiso
Brett Pozolinski, Milwaukee
David Koponen, Oakland
Reed Schmidt, Milwaukee
Ryan Leahy, Detroit
Jacob Frey, Valparaiso
Andrew Bowman, Oakland
Alex Chollet, Milwaukee
Christopher Scott, Oakland
Jordan Schmidt, Milwaukee
Jeremy Getz, Valparaiso
Christian Saporiti, UIC
Adam Bruno, Valparaiso
Khalil Parris, Detroit
Kyle Hauser, UIC
Christopher Sosnowski, Valparaiso
Jon Hutnyan, Youngstown State

Women’s Golf (7)
Alyssa Albright, Oakland
Allison Mitzel, Youngstown State
Emily Dixon, Youngstown State
Aislynn Merling, Youngstown State
Kayla Stueland, UIC
Allyson Hackman, Cleveland State
Colleen Miller, Cleveland State

Men’s Golf (8*)
Eric Winter, Valparaiso
Nick Seitz, Valparaiso
Evan Bowser, Oakland
Joe Harris, Valparaiso
Jacob Johnson, Oakland
Brandon Pluchinsky, Youngstown State
Wil Wittmann, Detroit
Gene Kiela, Green Bay

Honorees by School (90)
Youngstown State – 18
Oakland – 16
Valparaiso – 15
Milwaukee – 11
UIC – 8
Wright State – 7
Detroit – 6
Green Bay – 5
Cleveland State – 4

Tags: Cleveland State - Academics · Detroit Mercy - Academics · Green Bay - Academics · Horizon League - Academics · Milwaukee - Academics · Oakland - Academics · UIC - Academics · Valparaiso - Academics · Wright State - Academics · Youngstown State - Academics
« Return to Previous Page