Release  Horizon League · @ ·

Complete Release in PDF Format

INDIANAPOLIS -- Twenty-two individuals have earned 2009 Horizon League volleyball postseason honors. The list is highlighted by four specialty award winners -- Chuck Voss (Coach of the Year), Beth Greulich (Player of the Year), Lauren Felsing (Defensive Player of the Year) and Taylor Root (Newcomer of the Year).

Voss earns the League's top coaching award after guiding Cleveland State University to a 25-7 overall record and 13-3 League mark. The 2009 Vikings reached the 20-win plateau for the eighth time in school history and are currently one of just 11 NCAA Division I teams with at least 25 victories.

Greulich, a senior from Troy, Ohio, is a unanimous Player-of-the-Year pick after leading the League in hitting percentage (.341) while ranking fifth in kills per set (3.37) and seventh in points per set (3.79). The outside hitter, a three-time Horizon League Offensive Player of the Week this season, helped Cleveland State to a conference-best 12 straight match victories from Sept. 26 through Oct. 30.

Voss, Greulich and the Vikings will host the 2009 Horizon League Volleyball Championship as a result of being this year's No. 1 seed. The three-day event begins with two quarterfinal matches on Friday.

Felsing, a senior from Hartland, Wis., ranked second in the conference in digs per set (4.72). The libero, a two-time HL Defensive Player of the Week, has helped the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee to eight consecutive match wins. The Panthers, 13-14 overall, have earned the tournament's No. 3 seed after going 10-6 in conference action.

Root, a freshman from Jenison, Mich., led the circuit in digs per set (4.93). The libero, a two-time HL Defensive Player of the Week, has helped Valparaiso University to a victory in 14 of its last 17 matches. The Crusaders, 22-9 overall, have earned the tourney's No. 2 seed after going 12-4 in League play.

Cleveland State and Valparaiso have three All-League selections apiece in 2009. Senior outside hitter Liz Fazio and sophomore setter Jordan Goad join Greulich for CSU, while senior outside hitter Angie Porche and senior setter Kim Bukowski join Root for Valpo.

Butler and Milwaukee have two All-League picks each. Senior outside hitter Porshia Allen and junior outside hitter Jessica Wolfe represent the Bulldogs, while Felsing and junior outside hitter Jena Berg have been given the nod for the Panthers.

The 14-person All-League group is rounded out by University of Wisconsin-Green Bay senior outside hitter Holly Visser, University of Illinois at Chicago junior outside hitter Casie Sullivan, Wright State University junior middle blocker Shaunda Sandifer and Youngstown State University senior middle hitter Ruth Boscaljon.

Wolfe led the League in kills (3.98) and points per set (4.58), while Goad ranked first in assists per set (10.91) and Boscaljon topped everyone in blocks per set (1.20).

Greulich, Porche and Allen earn All-League honors for the third time in their careers, while Bukowski, Wolfe, Felsing, Sandifer and Boscaljon earn All-League accolades for the second time in their careers.

No. 3 Milwaukee and No. 6 Green Bay open the League championship on Friday at 5 p.m. ET before No. 4 Butler and No. 5 UIC square off in the second quarterfinal at 7:30 p.m.

Top-seeded Cleveland State will battle the lowest remaining seed in the first semifinal on Saturday at 1 p.m. ET before second-seeded Valparaiso takes on the highest remaining seed in the second semifinal at 3:30 p.m.

The championship match is slated for Sunday at 1 p.m. ET, with the winner earning a spot in the 64-team NCAA Championship. All five tournament matches will be shown live on the Horizon League Network (www.horizonleaguenetwork.tv).

Beth Greulich (Cleveland State)
Angie Porche (Valparaiso)
Jessica Wolfe (Butler)
Liz Fazio (Cleveland State)
Lauren Felsing (Milwaukee)
Jordan Goad (Cleveland State)
Porshia Allen (Butler)
Kim Bukowski (Valparaiso)
Ruth Boscaljon (Youngstown State)
Jena Berg (Milwaukee)
Taylor Root (Valparaiso)
Casie Sullivan (UIC)
Holly Visser (Green Bay)
Shaunda Sandifer (Wright State)

Taylor Root (Valparaiso)
Gina Vera (Butler)
Jena Berg (Milwaukee)
Kara Koch (Cleveland State)
Kelsey Safranek (UIC)
Angela Roidt (Youngstown State)
Whitney Schott (Green Bay)

Beth Greulich (Cleveland State)

Lauren Felsing (Milwaukee)

Taylor Root (Valparaiso)

Chuck Voss (Cleveland State)

Tags: Horizon League - Volleyball
« Return to Previous Page