Blog  Alex Kelly ·

INDIANAPOLIS – The Horizon League has announced the 2017 men’s and women’s tennis All-Academic Teams with six schools represented. Wright State and Valparaiso had a league-high three student-athletes represented amongst the two teams.

Wright State has three members on the All-Academic team with Jacob Perkins highlighting the men’s side after playing most of the season as the Raiders’ top singles player. Perkins is a senior on the team and is studying mechanical engineering. Meanwhile on the women’s side, Vanessa Madrigal and Linsey Verstrepen made the list with Madrigal being a biomedical engineering major and Verstrepen as an International Business major.

Valparaiso’s Jeffrey Schorsch and Kyle Dunn made the list on the men’s side. Both are undefeated in Horizon League play this year helping Valparaiso reach 20 dual match wins on the season. Schorsch and Dunn are seniors with Schorsch majoring in geology and Dunn studying biology and chemistry. Kathleen Hebble made an appearance on the women’s All-Academic team. The senior is a biology major and has played as the team’s top player for the season.

Youngstown State has a member from its men’s and women’s team on the All-Academic team in Gabriel Tolesani and Dominika Lackova. As a finance major, Tolesani has double digit wins this season for the first time in his career. This is the second year in a row that Lackova, an economics major, is featured on the All-Academic team. Lackova has double-figure wins on the year with all of those wins being either in the No. 1 or No. 2 spot.

Northern Kentucky had two senior honorees on the All-Academic team in Mate Virag and Klara Skopac. Virag is the top player on Northern Kentucky’s team majoring in Business Information Systems & Computer Science. Skopac, a finance major, has been a strong player for the Norse all year boasting a 7-1 record in league play.

UIC garnered a spot on the men’s team with Carl Hedstrom representing the Flames. The senior is a finance major and has played the majority of the season as the team’s top singles player.

Milwaukee senior Alysa Straub rounded out the women’s All-Academic team. The Finance / Supply Chain & Operations Management major has double-digit wins on the season.

To be eligible for All-Academic Team consideration, student-athletes must be starter of important reserve for their team, have completed at least 24 semester (or 36 quarter) hours at their institution and have a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.2.

Men’s Tennis All-Academic Team

Jeffrey SchorschValparaisoSeniorGeology
Jacob PerkinsWright StateSeniorMechanical Engineering
Gabriel TolesaniYoungstown StateJuniorFinance
Kyle DunnValparaisoSeniorBiology & Chemistry
Carl HedstromUICSeniorFinance
Mate ViragNorthern KentuckySeniorBusiness Information Systems & Computer Science

Women’s Tennis All-Academic Team

Dominika LackovaYoungstown StateSeniorEconomics
Vanessa MadrigalWright StateSeniorBiomedical Engineering
Linsey VerstrepenWright StateSeniorInternational Business
Alysa StraubMilwaukeeSeniorFinance and Supply Chain & Operations Management
Kathleen HebbleValparaisoSeniorBiology
Klara SkopacNorthern KentuckySeniorFinance

Tags: Horizon League - Academics · Horizon League - Men's Tennis · Horizon League - Women's Tennis · Milwaukee - Women's Tennis · Northern Kentucky - Men's Tennis · Northern Kentucky - Women's Tennis · UIC - Men's Tennis · Valparaiso - Men's Tennis · Valparaiso - Women's Tennis · Wright State - Men's Tennis · Wright State - Women's Tennis · Youngstown State - Men's Tennis · Youngstown State - Women's Tennis
« Return to Previous Page