Release  Brett Williams ·

INDIANAPOLIS – Honoring student-athletes for their success both in competition and in the classroom, the Horizon League announced its 2014 Fall Academic All-League Teams on Friday. A total of 52 student-athletes from five fall sports were honored in balloting by the League’s faculty athletics representatives and sports information directors.

Valparaiso led the conference with 10 honorees, followed by nine from Oakland, Milwaukee honoring seven and Green Bay adding six to the list of honorees. Detroit, UIC and Youngstown State honored five student-athletes, respectively. Wright State slotted four on the All-League teams while Green Bay rounded out the voting with one.

The Horizon League recognizes student-athletes with seasonal Academic All-League Teams in each of its 19 championship sports. To be eligible for Academic All-Horizon League consideration, a student-athlete must have a cumulative grade-point-average of 3.20 or higher (based on a 4.00 scale) and have completed at least one year at the member institution, having earned 24 semester-hour or 36 quarter-hour credits.

Horizon League Academic All-Horizon League Teams – Fall 2014
(listed alphabetically by school)

Women’s Cross Country (7)
Ashlyn Woods, Cleveland State 
Sarah Mauel, Green Bay 
Tess Ehrhardt, UIC 
Leah Holmes, Milwaukee 
Annette Lemanski, Milwaukee 
Jessica Richardson, Valparaiso 
Anna Pompeo, Youngstown State

Men’s Cross Country (7)
Ryan Leahy, Detroit
Kyle Hauser, UIC
Andrew Bowman, Oakland 
Nathan Ziolko, Oakland 
Michael Salguero, Valparaiso 
Ian Kallay, Wright State 
Jon Hutnyan, Youngstown State

Women’s Soccer (13)* Ties are not broken
Sabrina Abram, Cleveland State 
Amanda Sivic, Cleveland State 
Haley Burtraw, Detroit 
Sara Zawacki, Detroit 
Jasmin Carrera, UIC 
Morgan LaPlant, Milwaukee 
Kelly Lewers, Milwaukee  
Kyla Kellermann, Oakland 
Rita Craven, Valparaiso 
Kelsey Draper, Valparaiso 
Jenny Fassbinder, Valparaiso 
Allie Metzler, Wright State
Jackie Podolsky, Youngstown State

Men’s Soccer (11)
Sergio Manesio, Cleveland State 
Nathan Steinwascher, Detroit 
Matt Ybarra, Detroit 
Thomas Villamil, UIC 
Laurie Bell, Milwaukee 
Cody Archibald, Oakland 
Joey Tinnion, Oakland
Nick Suker, Valparaiso
Zev Taublieb, Valparaiso 
Eric Lynch, Wright State 
Emeka Ononye, Wright State

Volleyball (14)
Maggie Hannon, Cleveland State 
Grace Kauth, Cleveland State 
Nicole Johnson, UIC
Hannah Blanchard, Milwaukee
Taylor Golabowski, Milwaukee 
Amanda Baker, Oakland
Sammy Condon, Oakland
Melissa Deatsch, Oakland 
Taylor Humm, Oakland 
Morgan Beil, Valparaiso 
Kelsey Berrington, Valparaiso
Kelsey Victor, Valparaiso 
Aly Ryan, Youngstown State
Shannon Watson, Youngstown State

Honorees by School (52)
School Honorees
Valparaiso 10
Oakland 9
Milwaukee 7
Cleveland State  6
Detroit 5
Youngstown State 5
Wright State 4
Green Bay 1

Tags: Cleveland State - Academics · Detroit Mercy - Academics · Green Bay - Academics · Horizon League - Academics · Milwaukee - Academics · Oakland - Academics · UIC - Academics · Valparaiso - Academics · Wright State - Academics · Youngstown State - Academics
« Return to Previous Page