Release  Horizon League · @ ·

Wright State senior outfielder Mark Fowler has been named one of 32 semifinalists for the 2015 Gregg Olson Award, presented by Toolshed Sports. The award honors college baseball's breakout player of the year.

Fowler (West Chester, OH/Lakota West) helped lead the Raiders to the Champaign Regional final.  He is second on the team with a .339 batting average.  He also is WSU's co-leader with 50 runs scored and 17 doubles.

The 2015 Horizon League Tournament MVP, Fowler was selected Second Team All-Horizon League this season after being named to the All-Newcomer Team in 2013.

Finalists are scheduled to be announced on Friday, June 6, at the beginning of Super Regional action. The winner of the 2015 Gregg Olson Award will be named in Omaha, Nebraska, during the College World Series, June 13-23/24.

2015 Gregg Olson Award Semifinalists
Andrew Benintendi, Arkansas
Shane Bieber, UCSB
Garrett Copeland, Austin Peay
Logan Cozart, Ohio
Tagg Duce, Dallas Baptist
Mark Fowler, Wright State
Michael Freeman, Oklahoma State
Kyle Friedrichs, Long Beach St
Zach George, Arkansas State
Matt Hall, Missouri State
Shane Johnsonbaugh, Radford
Brad Jones, College of Charleston
Cody Jones, TCU
David Kerian, Illinois
Kevin Kramer, UCLA
Andrew Lee, Tennessee
Kyle Lewis, Mercer
Cole Lipscomb, Auburn
James McMahon, Southern Mississippi
Dominic Miroglio, San Francisco
Troy Montgomery, Ohio St
Mitchell Nau, Texas A&M
Alex Perez, Virginia Tech
Jordan Ramsey, UNC Wilmington
Anthony Sequeira, Oral Roberts
Justin Sinibaldi, Nicholls State
Bobby Stahel, USC
Jesse Stallings, LSU
Robert Tasin, Oklahoma
Taylor Tempel, Fresno St
David Thompson, Miami
Trey York, ETSU

Tags: Wright State - Baseball
« Return to Previous Page