Release  Bill Potter · @ ·

2013 Horizon League Tennis Championship Brackets

INDIANAPOLIS – Green Bay earned the No. 1 seed for the 2013 Horizon League men’s tennis championship, while UIC clinched its 17th consecutive regular-season women’s title, setting the stage for the 2013 tennis championships.

Green Bay (16-6, 6-0 Horizon) went unbeaten in six Horizon League matches to grab the No. 1 seed for the first time in program history. Along with the Phoenix, No. 2 Cleveland State (10-11, 5-1) will earn the coveted bye into the semifinals, turning in a 5-1 conference mark after snagging a 4-3 win over Wright State to wrap the regular season.

Youngstown State (12-8, 4-2) will be the No. 3 seed, taking on No. 6 Detroit (8-13, 1-5) at 10 a.m. ET on Friday, April 26. The Penguins knocked off the Titans, 4-3, to open their Horizon League slate on March 23.

On the opposite side of the bracket, No. 4 Wright State (12-12, 3-3) will meet No. 5 UIC (6-14, 2-4). The Raiders handed the Flames a 4-3 setback on March 23.

UIC (14-5, 6-1 Horizon) took the women’s regular-season crown for the 17th consecutive year, earning a bye into the conference semifinals. The Flames are joined in the semis by No. 2 Youngstown State (14-9, 5-2), which won a three-way tie to earn its best-ever conference finish.

The Penguins, Cleveland State (12-10, 5-2) and Detroit (11-5, 5-2) all finished with identical 5-2 conference records. However, YSU went 2-0 against the Vikings and Titans, giving the Penguins the tie-breaker. Cleveland State took the No. 3 seed after going 1-1 against the two, while Detroit is the No. 4 after going 0-2.

The No. 3 seed, Cleveland State will meet No. 6 Wright State (7-16, 2-5) in a rematch of Sunday’s 7-0 Viking win. In another rematch from this past weekend, No. 4 Detroit will take on No. 5 Milwaukee (11-9, 4-3); the Titans held off the Panthers, 4-3, on Saturday.

The 2013 Horizon League Tennis Championships will be held at the Barbara S. Wynne Tennis Center on the campus of North Central High School in Indianapolis. In the event of inclement weather, the championships will be held at the West Indy Racquet Club and Five Seasons.

The championship matches will be streamed via the Horizon League Network on Sunday, April 28.

Tags: Cleveland State - Men's Tennis · Cleveland State - Women's Tennis · Detroit Mercy - Men's Tennis · Detroit Mercy - Women's Tennis · Green Bay - Men's Tennis · Green Bay - Women's Tennis · Horizon League - Men's Tennis · Horizon League - Women's Tennis · Milwaukee - Women's Tennis · Valparaiso - Men's Tennis · Valparaiso - Women's Tennis · Wright State - Men's Tennis · Wright State - Women's Tennis · Youngstown State - Men's Tennis · Youngstown State - Women's Tennis
« Return to Previous Page