Blog  Jeremiah Ingram ·

INDIANAPOLIS – Detroit Mercy women’s golfer Sarah Montone and Wright State men’s swimmer Wiehan Boshoff are the 2017 recipients of the Horizon League Post-Graduate Scholarship Award, as voted on by the leagues Faculty Athletics Representatives Committee.

“It is an honor to recognize Wiehan and Sarah as our Horizon League Post-Graduate Scholarship Award winners,” said Horizon League Commissioner Jon LeCrone. “Both of them embody all of the attributes of model student-athletes. We are proud of their achievements and wish them the best as they pursue their graduate degrees.”

Now in its fourth year, the Horizon League annually provides a post-graduate scholarship to a male and a female student-athlete from a member institution to be used for graduate school expenses. Candidates for the scholarship are evaluated based on four categories: academics, athletics, service and leadership.

Montone was one of nine valedictorian candidates at Detroit Mercy and is a member of two academic honor societies, Beta Gamma Sigma and the Global Jesuit Business Student Association. A business administration major as an undergraduate, Montone intends to pursue a Master’s of Business Administration at Detroit Mercy. She was a two-time co-captain of the Titans’ golf team and lowered her per-round scoring average by four strokes during her career.

Boshoff completed a dual undergraduate major in computer engineering and computer science and was named to the dean’s list four times. He was a captain for the Raiders’ swimming and diving team and was a three-time place-winner at the Horizon League Championship.

2017 Horizon League Post-Graduate Nominees
Oakland University – Takara Martin, Women’s Swimming and Diving
University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee – Hayley Marshall, Women’s Tennis
University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee – John Boidanis, Baseball
Youngstown State University – Sara Dowd, Softball

Tags: All Teams - Academics · Detroit Mercy - Academics · Horizon League - Academics · Wright State - Academics
« Return to Previous Page