Release  Cam Fuller · @ ·

Men's & Women's Championship Results   Men's & Women's Race Pictures   Awards Ceremony Pictures

YOUNGSTOWN, Ohio – On a mild afternoon at the Boardman High School Cross Country Course, Detroit won the men’s race while host Youngstown State took the women's race. It represented both school’s first Horizon League Cross Country Championship.

In the men’s 8K race, junior Eric Rupe of Youngstown State broke away from a pack of Titans including sophomore Ryan Hofsess and senior Martin Nelkie and Wright State senior Dan Shafer. Rupe finished at 25:40.0 while Shafer finished runner-up at 25:49.3.

On the women’s side, UIC senior Tess Ehrhardt won the Championship in a 5K time of 17:47.63, nearly 15 seconds ahead of junior Anna Pompeo of Youngstown State (18:02.01). Ehrhardt, Pompeo, senior Louisa Coppola of Detroit, and Youngstown State senior Samantha Hamilton battled all race long. It was Ehrhardt who eventually broke away from the pack.

Rupe and Ehrhardt marked the first individual Champion from their respective school.

Up next for Horizon League schools is the NCAA Great Lakes Region Meet or the Midwest Region Meet, depending on the school's location. Both meets are scheduled for Nov. 15.

Men’s Athlete of the Year: Eric Rupe, Youngstown State
Women’s Athlete of the Year: Tess Ehrhardt, UIC

Men’s Freshman of the Year:  Jacbob Bowman, Oakland
Women’s Freshman of the Year: McKinse Klim, Youngstown State

Men’s Coach of the Year: Guy Murray, Detroit
Women’s Coach of the Year: Brian Gorby, Youngstown State

Women’s All-League First Team
1 Tess Ehrhardt- UIC 17:47.63   
2 Anna Pompeo- Youngstown State 18:02.01
3 Louisa Coppola- Detroit 18:14.35
4 Samantha Hamilton- Youngstown State 18:20.86     
5 McKinsie Klim-Youngstown State 18:39.09     
6 Rebecca Zaiter- UIC 18:47.56
7 Jessica Richardson- Valparaiso 18:49.19

Women’s All-League Second Team
8 Allison Anich- Milwaukee 18:55.07
9 Karli Keur- Oakland 19:00.84
10 Sammy Mondry- Oakland 19:03.01
11 Sarah Mauel- Green Bay 19:04.51
12 Brittany Stockmaster- Youngstown State 19:12.21
13 Elizabeth Rogenski- Youngstown State 19:14.93
14 Vince Paikowski- Milwaukee 26:28.90

Men’s All-League First Team
1 Eric Rupe- Youngstown State 25:41.24
2 Dan Shafer- Wright State 25:50.51
3 Martin Nelkie- Detroit 25:54.76
4 Ryan Hofsess- Detroit 26:03.65
5 Austin McLean- Youngstown State 26:04.61
6 Matt Peters- Wright State 26:14.51
7 George Holman- Detroit 26:14.96

Men’s All-League Second Team
8 Austin Wigent- Detroit 26:18.86
9 Michael Cox- Oakland 26:20.43
10 Jacob Bowman- Oakland 26:22.17
11 Derek Gielarowski- Detroit 26:23.13
12 Nick Gliha- Youngstown State 26:24.39
13 Gerrit Bruni- Milwaukee 26:28.19
14 Vince Paikowski- Milwaukee 26:28.90

Tags: Cleveland State - Cross Country · Detroit Mercy - Cross Country · Green Bay - Cross Country · Milwaukee - Cross Country · Oakland - Cross Country · UIC - Cross Country · Valparaiso - Cross Country · Wright State - Cross Country · Youngstown State - Cross Country
« Return to Previous Page