Release  Brett Williams ·

INDIANAPOLIS -- Cleveland State senior shortstop Cynthia Woodard was named Horizon League Player of the Year in voting of the League’s coaches.

Woodard posted a .434 batting-average this season for the Vikings while hitting .444 against League opponents. The senior ranked first in the conference in several categories including runs scored (47), hits (69), slugging percentage (.969), total bases (154), runs batted in (50) and home runs (24). In addition, Woodard also ranked second in assists with 122 at the shortstop position.

UIC sophomore pitcher Elaine Heflin earned Pitcher of the Year honors after compiling a 2.77 earned run average this season and a 11-10 record. During conference play, the sophomore went 10-3 in 19 appearances with a 1.91 ERA while striking out 84 League hitters.

Heflin’s teammate, Tiana Mack-Miller, was named Freshman of the Year after an impressive debut season for the Flames leading the team in hitting with a .379 batting average and .472 average in conference games. The freshman started all 43 contests and tallied 50 hits, 23 runs scored, 30 RBI, 15 doubles and four home runs.

Leading Oakland to a share of the Horizon League regular-season title for the first time in program history, head coach Connie Miner garnered Coach of the Year accolades. The Golden Grizzles posted a record of 14-6 in conference play and 24-22 overall while earning a spot in the conference tournament for the first time since joining the Horizon League.

Regular-season co-champions Oakland and UIC placed three players on the first team, respectively. The Golden Grizzlies were represented by junior pitcher Erin Kownacki, senior Sara Cupp and senior Courtnee Johnson. The Flames added freshman Mack-Miller, sophomore Heflin and junior Laura Swan.

Cleveland State’s Woodard and Erica McNew, Detroit’s Kayla Kostich, Green Bay’s Hailey Mohrfeld, Valparaiso’s Kaitlyn Ranieri and Youngstown State’s Miranda Castiglione rounded out the first team honorees.

Oakland will host the Horizon League Softball Championship, which begins on Wednesday, May 6. ESPN3 will bring fans the action across all four days, culminating with the League championship game on May 9.\

2015 Softball Awards

Player of the Year
Cynthia Woodard, Cleveland State

Freshman of the Year
Tiana Mack-Miller, UIC

Pitcher of the Year
Elaine Heflin, UIC

Coach of the Year
Connie Miner, Oakland

First Team All-League
Cynthia Woodard, CSU (Sr., SS)
Erica McNew, CSU (Jr., C)
Kayla Kostich, Detroit (Sr., SS)
Hailey Mohrfeld, Green Bay (Sr., SS)
Erin Kownacki, Oakland (Jr., P)
Sara Cupp, Oakland (Sr., 1B)
Courtnee Johnson, Oakland (Sr., RF)
Tiana Mack-Miller, UIC (Fr., 3B)
Elaine Heflin, UIC (So., P)
Laura Swan, UIC (Jr., 1B)
Kaitlyn Ranieri, Valparaiso (Jr., OF)
Miranda Castiglione, YSU (Jr., 1B/3B)

Second Team All-League
Susan Knight, CSU (Jr., RHP)
Savvy Ferstle, Detroit (Fr., 2B)
Katelyn Huemmer, Green Bay (So., CF)
Sarah Hartley, Oakland (Jr., SS)
Jackie Kisman, Oakland (Sr., 2B)
Eleni Polites, UIC (Sr., OF)
Taylor Nadler, Valparaiso (Fr., OF)
Becka Peterson, Wright State (RS So., SS)
Hanna Floyd, Wright State (Jr., DP)
Jess Gorman, Wright State (Sr., OF)
Montana Wear, Wright State (Jr., P)
Sara Dowd, YSU (So., OF)

All-Freshman Team
Mackenzie Joecken, CSU (Fr., UTL/P)
Savvy Ferstle, Detroit (Fr., 2B)
Alexx Astorga, Detroit (Fr., OF)
Julia Morales, Oakland (Fr., DP)
Haley Zemmer, Oakland (Fr., P)
Tiana Mack-Miller, UIC (Fr., 3B)
Taylor Nadler, Valparaiso (Fr., OF)
Stephanie Moreno, Valparaiso (Fr., OF)
Cali Mikovich, YSU (Fr., OF)

Tags: Horizon League - Softball
« Return to Previous Page