Release  Horizon League · @ ·

Sunday Results Get Acrobat Reader

The 2009 Horizon League Tennis Championships concluded Sunday, as the Cleveland State men and UIC women won League titles. In a rematch of the 2008 final, the Viking men defeated UIC in a thriller, with the match being decided by the No. 1 singles match. Phil Orno edged Sebastian Lystad (6-7(5), 6-3, 6-3), to clinch the second-straight title for the Vikings. On the women's side, UIC defeated Detroit, who was making its first-ever finals appearance, 4-1. The Flames won their 13th-consecutive League championship with the victory.

In consolation action, the Valparaiso men defeated Youngstown State, 4-0, to earn fifth-place in the tournament. Butler defeated Green Bay, 4-0, in the third-place men's match, while Youngstown State defeated the Bulldog women, 4-3 in the third-place match.

Cleveland State and UIC will go on to represent the Horizon League in the NCAA tournaments. Brackets will be announced Tuesday.

Tags: Cleveland State - Men's Tennis · Cleveland State - Women's Tennis · UIC - Men's Tennis · UIC - Women's Tennis
« Return to Previous Page