Blog  Jeremiah Ingram ·

YOUNGSTOWN, Ohio – The 2017 Horizon League Outdoor Track and Field Championships will take place May 5-7 at Farmers National Bank Field on the campus of Youngstown State University. Youngstown State is the defending team champion on both the men’s and women’s side.

Fans can follow along via live stats and watch the event finals live on ESPN3.

For more information about the 2017 Horizon League Outdoor Track and Field Championship, including an event schedule, live stats and ESPN3 viewing links, visit Championship Central. #HLTF

Meet Results

Photo Gallery

Day One Recap

Day Two Team Scores
Youngstown State 111
Oakland 70
Milwaukee 59
UIC 27
Valparaiso 21
Northern Kentucky 16
Detroit Mercy 7

Youngstown State 103.50
Oakland 64
Milwaukee 57.50
Wright State 40
Northern Kentucky 33
Detroit Mercy 23
UIC 18
Valparaiso 9
Cleveland State 3

Day Two Event Final Recaps
Event final qualifiers, full results and streaming links can be found here.

Chenera Lacey of Youngstown State won the women’s heptathlon with a total score of 4,385. Lacey posted the event’s top marks in the high jump, long jump and 100 hurdles. Kyri Jackson of Detroit Mercy (4,304) finished in second place while Wright State’s Gabrielle Markley took third (4,136).

Oakland freshman Zachary Stadnika posted 6,253 points, including top performances in the pole vault, discus, 110 hurdles and 100 meters. Youngstown State’s Isaac Agyemang finished in second place with 5,852 to edge UIC’s Michael Crepeau (5,837).

Women’s Shot Put
Jaynee Corbett of Youngstown State dominated the field in the women’s shot put, taking top honors with a throw of 15.81m (51-10.50) to set a new Horizon League Championship record. Northern Kentucky’s Ashley Brown took second place (13.44m – 44-01.25) while Stephanie Kostowicz of Milwaukee earned third place (13.19m – 43-03.25).

Men’s Shot Put
Youngstown State’s Ryan Booth was more than four feet better than the field in the men’s shot put with a throw of 57-08.50 (17.59m) to take home the Horizon League title. Milwaukee’s Peter Andrew placed second at 53-05.00 (16.28m) while Youngstown State’s Dom Westbay recorded a 16.25m (53-03.75), good for third place.

Women’s High Jump
Abby Jones of Youngstown State set a new facility record on her way to winning the women’s high jump, clearing the bar at 1.68m (5-06.00). Milwaukee’s Ashley Melvin and Rylee Anderson finished second and third, respectively, both clearing 1.62m (5-03.75).

Women’s Pole Vault
Wright State’s Maria Heckman is the 2017 women’s pole vault champion, making it over the bar at a facility-best height of 3.85m (12-07.50). Dana Tessmer of Oakland and Sarina Maurerman both cleared 3.65m (11-11.75), with Tessmer earning second place.

Men’s Pole Vault: 
Dylan Latone of Youngstown State won a tightly contested men’s pole vault competition and set a new facility record by clearing 4.80m (15-09.00) on his first attempt. UIC’s Davis Hallberg was one bar back, making it over at 4.70m (15-05.00). Pawel Klimek of UIC finished in third place, clearing 4.60m (15-01.00).

Women’s Long Jump
Alisha Harper of Milwaukee landed a title-winning long jump of 5.79m (19-00.00) to edge teammate Melissa Kirchoff (5.78m – 18-11.75), for a one-two sweep for the Panthers. Ellie Pollock of Youngstown State went 5.68m (18-07.75) to claim third place.

Men’s Long Jump
Brandon Davis of Oakland claimed the Horizon League men’s long jump title with a leap of 7.3m (23-11.50). Nate Pozolinski of Milwaukee also cleared the seven-meter mark with a 7.24m effort (23-09.00) and Isaac Agyemang of Youngstown State claimed third place with a 6.85m jump (22-05.75).

Women’s 3,000m Steeplechase: 
Ashley Burr of Oakland pulled away from the field and claimed the women’s steeplechase in a time of 10:31.98, nearly 18 second ahead of the pack and a new meet record. Miranda Hass of Oakland (10:53.92) finished in second place while Valparaiso’s Elizabeth Owen of Valparaiso closed strongly to earn a third-place finish (11.02.65).

Men’s 3,000m Steeplechase
George O’Connor of Oakland made his move on the bell lap and came away the men’s steeplechase champion with a time of 9:11.68 to set a new facility record. Caleb Abfall of Milwaukee (9:13.59) out-sprinted UIC’s Brixton Rill (9:13.77) to earn a runner-up finish.

Tags: All Teams - Track and Field · Horizon League - Track and Field
« Return to Previous Page