Release  Bill Benner ·

INDIANAPOLIS -- Twenty Horizon League teams from the 2009-2010 academic year were honored Tuesday by the NCAA for achieving multi-year academic performance rates (APR) in the top 10 percent of their NCAA Division I peers.

Loyola University squads dominated the list with eight teams recognized: men’s basketball, men’s cross country, men’s golf, men’s soccer, men’s indoor track, men’s outdoor track, women’s basketball and women’s soccer.

Butler and Valparaiso each had four teams represented. Bulldog squads included men’s basketball, women’s basketball, women’s golf and women’s tennis. Valparaiso’s list featured baseball, men’s tennis, softball and women’s volleyball.

Detroit men’s golf, Green Bay women’s basketball, Cleveland State women’s cross country and Wright State women’s tennis were the other honorees from the Horizon League honorees.

“To have 20 of our conference teams be recognized for their continued commitment to the academic success reflects highly on the student-athletes, their coaches and the universities,” said Horizon League Commissioner Jon LeCrone. “In particular I want to recognize the outstanding effort of Loyola University in this regard with eight teams achieving NCAA distinction.”

The APR provides a real-time look at a team’s academic success each semester by tracking the academic progress of each student-athlete on scholarship. The APR accounts for eligibility, retention and graduation and provides a measure of each team’s academic performance.

Multi-year APRs for all Division I sports teams will be announced next week.

Tags: Butler - Golf · Butler - Men's Basketball · Butler - Women's Basketball · Cleveland State - Cross Country · Detroit Mercy - Golf · Green Bay - Women's Basketball · Loyola - Cross Country · Loyola - Golf · Loyola - Men's Soccer · Loyola - Track and Field · Loyola - Women's Basketball · Loyola - Women's Soccer · Valparaiso - Baseball · Valparaiso - Men's Tennis · Valparaiso - Softball · Valparaiso - Volleyball · Valparaiso - Women's Tennis · Wright State - Men's Tennis · Wright State - Women's Tennis
« Return to Previous Page